Small town life.

After several days of blogging things that matter to me, I’ve decided that for those of you that have never met me, (all of you)  I’d take a little time to introduce myself and tell you a little bit about me.  First and foremost, I’m a wife and mother.  I take these jobs very seriously.  My husband and I raised our children to be independent and productive.  Being an asset to society rather than a burden on it.  I feel confident that we’ve succeeded.  Our daughter is married to a man that was raised very much like herself.  He has an extremely good job that allows her to be a stay at home mom.  Something I sometimes wish I had been able to do, but would have gone crazy having to depend on my husband for everything.  Our son is currently serving in Germany and will soon, (we hope) be returning to the States.  He’s unmarried so both of our grandchildren are from our daughter.  (I look forward to more when he finds Ms. Right and marries, beings that our daughter has decided that two was enough for her.

In 2008, after working hard his entire life, my husband started developing blood clots.  One after another and another and another.  Never having been in the hospital for anything, we embarked on many surgeries and finally the dreaded bypass.  Now my husband is still learning to live his life and do things that he is still able to do, with adjustments.  Don’t cross your legs, don’t set the grand kids on your legs.  The list is never ending, but we are working with it.  The fun part was foods.  We are vegetable eaters from the get go.  Red meat, Was, a daily thing.  Not so much now.  

Not so much, now.  Now, that’s an understatement.  Raising a family and running a household on two mediocre incomes was a challenge at times, but doable.  (So we thought at the time.)  Now we know better.  We had it made.  Running the household and keeping us both eating with this new dietary schedule, on one income has shown me that the things we used to see as necessities were actually luxuries in disguise.  But, we make it work and though we aren’t packing up and taking off to the vacation spot of the year, we are still just as happy.  

Happy?  More like proud.  We did things as we could.  We didn’t refinance everything the interest rates dropped like most of our friends did.  We just kept paying on the mortgage we had and went with it.  This months payment will be our last.  We’ve both done things we’ve wanted to do.  He has his show car, that lives in a floored shed out back and only comes out when there is no rain the forecast for days and I spent a week in England walking through castles that have stood strong for hundreds of years.  Scotland would have been nice.  But good things come to those who wait.  And believe me, I am waiting.

I love my job and the people that I work for and with.  Every morning I get up, do my hair and makeup, and dress for success.  I sell radio advertising for a local radio station.  I get to plan events and promotions with local business and the community.  I set on the board of directors for the local homeless shelter and that gives me balance.  I see first hand how the loss of one week’s pay can effect a family.  I’m thankful for my job, my family, and my life.

My life is what ever I make it.  I have strong faith in God and that’s one thing that can never be taken from me.  My children have grown up and moved out on their own, my husband’s health has been a challenge to say the least, but my life and everything about me has always shined through everything.  In 2008, my husband, son, and myself, lost our jobs.  My husband’s health when with his, but my son enlisted and I was called by this wonderful radio station to meet with them.  They new my work and wanted me.  The local newspaper was falling into trouble and had to make cuts.  But my work was strong and I’m sure my contacts were an added plus to meeting with me.  I left that meeting with a job.

I hope I haven’t bored you, this is my life in a nut shell.

Comments

